Plattsburgh State University logo


My Home | MicroWorld Home | MicroLinks | Prokaryotes | Eukaryotes | Viruses


Overview of Bergey's Manual - Second Edition

Volume 1 Archaea Halobacterium salinarum
Deeply branching Gram-negatives Nostoc
Volume 2 Proteobacteria Escherichia coli
Volume 3 Low G+C Gram-positives Staphylococcus aureus
Volume 4 High G+C Gram-positives Mycobacterium tuberculosis
Volume 5 Deeply branching Gram-negatives Borellia burgdorferi

Bergey's Manual organizes prokaryotes into two domains (Archaea and Bacteria), each of which is further divided into 23 phyla and numerous classes, orders, families, and genera. The outline below lists representative genera from all currently accepted families. On this page, genera are grouped by Phylum (named), Class (named), Order  and Family. Arabic numerals indicate genera belonging to different orders (numeral before the period) and families (numeral after the period). Letters a, b, c...are used when more than one genus is listed to represent its family.  Parenthesis: number of genera in this family, including the genus listed.  An Alphabetical Index of genera is also provided. 

Shortcut to Volumes:

Volume 1 Volume 2 Volume 3 Volume 4 Volume 5

Domain Archaea

I. Phylum Crenarchaeota

I. Class Thermoprotei

II. Phylum Euryarchaeota

I. Class Methanobacteria

II. Class Methanococci

III. Class Halobacteria

IV. Class Thermoplasmata

V. Class Thermococci

VI. Class Archaeoglobi

VII. Class Methanopyri

III. Phylum Nanoarchaeota

IV. Phylum Korarchaeota


Domain Bacteria

I. Phylum Aquificae

I. Class Aquificae

II. Phylum Thermotogae

I. Class Thermotogae

III. Phylum Thermodesulfobacteria

I. Class Thermodesulfobacteria

IV. Phylum "Deinococus - Thermus"

I. Class Deinococci

V. Phylum Chrysiogenetes

I. Class Chrysiogenetes

VI. Phylum Chloroflexi

I. Class "Chloroflexi"

VII. Phylum Thermomicrobia

I. Class Thermomicrobia

VIII. Phylum Nitrospira

I. Class "Nitrospira"

IX. Phylum Deferribacteres

I. Class Deferribacteres

X. Phylum Cyanobacteria

I. Class "Cyanobacteria"

XI. Phylum Chlorobia

I. Class Chlorobia

XII. Phylum Proteobacteria

I. Class a-Proteobacteria

II. Class b-Proteobacteria

III. Class g-Proteobacteria

IV. Class d-Proteobacteria

V. Class e-Proteobacteria

XIII. Phylum Firmicutes

I. Class "Clostridia"

II. Class Mollicutes

III. Class "Bacilli"

XIV. Phylum Actinobacteria

I. Class Actinobacteria

Subclass Acidimicrobidae

Subclass Rubrubacteridae

Subclass Coriobacteridae

Subclass Sphaerobacteridae

Subclass Actinobacteridae

Order Actinomycetales

Order Bifidobacteriales

(138 genera in 44 families, 14 suborders, 6 orders, 5 subclasses and 1 class)

XV. Phylum Planctomycetes

I. Class "Planctomycetacia"

(4 genera in 1 family, 1 order, 1 class)

XVI. Phylum Chlamydiae

I. Class "Chlamydiae"

(5 genera in 4 families, 1 order, 1 class)

XVII. Phylum Spirochaetes

I. Class "Spirochaetes"

(13 genera in 3 families, 1 order, 1 class)

XVIII. Phylum Fibrobacteres

I. Class "Fibrobacteres"

(1 genus in 1 family, 1 order, 1 class)

XIX. Phylum Acidobacteria

I. Class "Acidobacteria"

(3 genera in 1 family, 1 order, 1 class)

XX. Phylum Bacteroidetes

I. Class "Bacteroidetes"

II. Class "Flavobacteria"

III. Class "Sphingobacteria"

(53 genera in 12 families, 3 orders, 3 classes)

XXI. Phylum Fusobacteria

I. Class "Fusobacteria"

(7 genera in 2 families, 1 order, 1 class)

XXII. Phylum Verrucomicrobia

I. Class Verrucomicrobiae

(3 genera in 2 families, 1 order, 1 class)

XXIII. Phylum Dictyoglomus

I. Class "Dictyoglomi"

(1 genus in 1 family, 1 order, 1 class)

* Bergey's Manual® of Systematic Bacteriology, 2nd edition

This page was last edited on 12/15/06 .

SUNY Plattsburgh | Department of Biological Sciences | My Research Interests

© 1999 - 2003 José de Ondarza - Contact